Month 1 recap, #365daysofbreakfast

In case you somehow missed my (ridiculously over-promoted) new project, 365 Days of Breakfast, I’m now one month in to it: today marks 30 days of breakfast.

Have you ever done something like this before: looked so closely – with photo documentation even – at one small aspect of  your life? I suggest you try it. Take a picture of your coffee each morning, or what you’re doing each day at 10:00 am, or 10:00 pm, or the last thing you look at before turning out the light to go to sleep. I think the results will fascinate you. They have me.

With just one month completed of this breakfast project I’ve realized something pretty important about my kids’ morning routine: we eat a lot of carbs. And I mean A LOT. Cereal, oatmeal, granola, toast, waffles, muffins, quick breads…carbs, carbs, carbs, and some carbs with sugar. Not that there’s anything wrong with this – I crave this food source in the morning too (why, just the other day I made corn muffins just so I could have one), but seeing all these carbs has me wondering if I should rethink our morning meal a little bit.

The other thing that has become obvious over the last month is that vegetables are conspicuously missing. The only one that has crossed our breakfast plates in the last 30 days is celery. Seems like a missed opportunity.

I’ve debated whether or not I should be so introspective about what we’re eating and make changes based on what I see – after all, the point of this exercise was to document breakfast, not address the “problems” with it. (By the way, this is one of the reasons we, in the field of nutrition research don’t like to have people record what they’re eating: they inevitably change what they’re eating as a result of simply documenting it.) But, in the end I think I will try to be more mindful – and creative – about incorporating vegetables into the morning meal. At the very least, it might make for some interesting pictures.

Leave a Reply

