Happy {early} Father’s Day

A couple of years ago (I can’t believe I’ve been writing for that long!) I shared a very beautiful exchange between Eleanor and  Tim. It was a spontaneous message of the power of her body that Tim shared with Eleanor before their bedtime routine and it has resonated profoundly with parents and non-parents alike. At the time I wrote it, I hadn’t asked Tim for permission to share this intimate moment – frankly I didn’t think that many people would read it. But it has recently regained interest, with many (many) more people reading and sharing the story. The positive outpouring of support for Tim has been amazing for me to experience and it has reminded me that I should not take for granted how fabulous a father he is to our children.
There are many examples of his awesomeness I can point to. Here are just a few:

  • He gives messages like this one to our daughter.
  • He makes great faces, and taught Eleanor to make them as well.
  • He’s earned this previous (short) shout-out to dads everywhere; and to Tim specifically while in Arusha.
  • He can cook, spontaneously.
  • He puts 100% effort into his work, when he’s there, then 100% effort into us when he’s home.
  • He kicked ass at his work in Africa – and brought us along for the ride.

I intended to have this post written for him for this past Sunday, Father’s Day. But I couldn’t get out of my own way to have it written in time. So, rather than thinking of this as a belated father’s day message, I’m choosing to think of it as a very early one – for next year. Happy {early} Father’s Day, Tim. Thank you for all that you do, and all that you are.

happy fathers day

One thought on “Happy {early} Father’s Day

  1. He IS a great guy! So glad he’s part of the family! Glad the post about his exchange with Eleanor is still gaining attention . . . very appropriate recognition of a “brilliant moment!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

