where to shop for food

{Probably not my most poignant post, but taking the time to write again felt oh so good.}
Prompted by a recent article in Time Magazine, I assert (again)  at Just Add Spinach that there are more than just nutritional reasons to know your local farmers and buy what they are growing. With that said, for a great majority of people simply learning – or taking more time to practice – how to shop in the average supermarket can make a world of difference.

I look forward to your thoughts.

2 thoughts on “where to shop for food

  1. Thanks for the post. I read what you posted in j.a.s. We are trying to eat healthier these days. I am not a great cook but I am trying to learn more and improve. We cannot afford lots of local but we try to make good choices. I had to chuckle at the excerpt from the Time article because it was about frozen spinach. I like fresh spinach or very lightly sauteed but I have yet to find a recipe where I actually like the frozen spinach. My husband bought some and it sat it the freezer for month because I couldn’t stand the thought of using it. We did use one box in a lasagna that wasn’t too bad but… it still tasted like frozen spinach. I know that this is a good item that would add to our diets but I can’t figure out how to hide that strong taste of frozen spinach. DO you have any ideas?
    Congrats on Tatu :).
    Shawn

    Like

  2. You know, I’ve been thinking about this question…wanting to come up with an answer for you…but I’ve yet to make myself go to the grocery store and actually purchase a block! One day 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

