mark bittman is my hero

When Eleanor was born she was fussy. Not (what I’ve heard described as) colicy, but you could tell that she was periodically in pain: she would pull her legs up to her chest and cry. Hard. I always felt like something was wrong but had no “proof” to bring to the doctor. Then, when she was 3 months old, I started seeing blood in her stool. And I felt completely vindicated. (And terrible.)
The problem was a food sensitivity, and the solution easy: I stopped eating dairy, gluten, and soy and her issues completely (and I do mean COMPLETELY) cleared.

So when Oliver was born I made the same dietary changes preemptively. I didn’t see any reason to put him through three possible months of pain and suffering so I could eat pizza. Do I miss the pizza? Yes. But it’s a small price to pay for a healthy, happy baby. (And, as a bonus, I actually feel significantly better when I’m not eating gluten. So it’s win-win.)

I imagine that most people think this must be the most horrendous diet. No cheese or bread? No ice cream or yogurt? No muffins, scones, cinnamon rolls, or bagels? NO EDAMAME?

NNNNOOOOOOOOO….

But believe me when I say that you can eat really, really well on this diet. I’m serious. First, there is no shortage of available gluten-free or dairy-free (and even some gluten- AND dairy-free) products in the market these days. Most grocery stores and/or the products themselves (proudly) wear their gluten-free label, and will (depending on the store) include everything from cookies and crackers, to breads and desserts, to soups, salad dressings, and sauces (yes, if you read carefully, most salad dressings do have gluten in them).

Second, there’s no shortage of websites and blogs providing advice on how to live gluten (or dairy, or soy… or all three) free.  (I have written about going dairy-free before and love this site for gluten-free inspiration.)

Third, once you know what you can and cannot eat, adapting recipes to suit your needs is relatively simple. For example, when recipe calls for butter I know that I can substitute olive oil (if I’m cooking), canola/sunflower/safflower/coconut oil and/or applesauce (if I’m baking), or use this delightful product if I’m making a bowl of popcorn to eat while watching The West Wing. I know the one brand of pre-made tomato soup that does not contain wheat for nights when Tim’s making his famous hamburger stew, and Enjoy Life makes a soy-nut-gluten-dairy-free chocolate chip (it’s not as bad as it sounds) that I use to make the best pumpkin chocolate chip cookies ever (see recipe below).

My family isn’t always as thrilled about this gluten-dairy-soy-free lifestyle as I am. They prefer their regular fusilli to my rice pasta and will always add cheese to their tacos. I get it.

But last night I scored big. After a long, humid, early summer day Tim suggested we have some light salads for dinner. So I turned to the same source I always do when “light salads” are in order and made a version of three of these: carrots with blueberries candied sunflower seeds, watermelon and mint, and quinoa with cucumber, tomato, orange pepper and cilantro. Eleanor ate all three (and asked for seconds) and Tim, his mouth full, said this was the best dinner he had had in a long time.

Mark Bittman, you are my hero.

dinner trio.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies
supposed to make 48 cookies (but I don’t know who came up with that).
A few notes about this recipe. First, do not expect these to look (or taste) like the butter-filled chocolate chip cookie deliciousness that you’re used to. These are NOT those cookies. But they are still pretty good, especially after if you eat them fresh but give them just a little time to cool. I usually just use gluten-free all purpose flour (Bob’s Red Mill makes a good version, which you can buy online here) because that’s what is easiest for me to get my hands on. My friend Meghan swears by a gluten-free flour mix that she makes herself (recipe here), but I don’t have the kitchen scale (or the patience. or the time) needed to do this so I usually just rely on the stuff my CoOp sells in bulk (I should check the source). Also, I have yet to use all the canola oil called for here. I tend to use 1/4 cup at most, and substitute applesauce for the rest. Finally, I usually add a little cinnamon – because I tend to add cinnamon to everything – but the original recipe had none. So if you’re a purist, leave it out.
3 cups oat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup canned pumpkin
1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 cup canola oil
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 tbsp vanilla
2 cups allergy-free chocolate chips
Preheat oven to 375. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. In a large bowl, mix pumpkin and baking powder. Add oil, sugar, and vanilla to the pumpkin mixture. Combine well. Add dry ingredients to the wet. Mix in the chips. Drop by tablespoonfuls onto ungreased or parchment-lined cookie sheets. Bake 12-15 minutes until golden. Let rest 1-2 minutes on the pan. Then transfer to racks to cool.

 

 

 

One thought on “mark bittman is my hero

Leave a Reply

