Things I love: preserving imagination

I know you’ve probably heard enough from me about Eleanor and her drawing (“We get it. She likes to draw. Move on, already.”), but I just had to share this. The woman (or women, as the case may be) behind Child’s Own Studio had the [absolutely brilliant] idea to turn her son’s drawing into a stuffed animal. Near as I can tell she started this back in 2011 (at least that’s as far back as her website archives). Her wait list is now 563 requests long. 563 (and she’s only able to make 4/week, which means if you emailed her right now, you have to wait 2 1/2 years for your creation. Think she’s stumbled onto something here?).
Bringing imagination to life: I can think of few better gifts for a young person (and few better ways to preserve their creations).

images via

Too many stuffed animals already? Can’t decide which drawing to use? Jen, from A Thousand Words, had the same problem (maybe, I don’t actually know for sure…but it sounds good). Which is why she opted to use all of them (her son’s drawings, that is) and create this custom duvet cover. Tracing each image by hand; now that’s love. What to know more, there’s a step-by-step tutorial here.

image via.

6 thoughts on “Things I love: preserving imagination

  1. I TOTALLY understand your enthusiasm for her self expression. Dakota is 2 1/4 and did her first “real drawing” the other day. She told me that it was a whale and I could see it! I went through the roof because I was so excited.
    I love the ideas for making the expressions more permanent. It doesn’t surprise me that the woman has a huge waiting list. Please don’t feel badly – your comments and stories are inspiring. I really need to get painting out for Dakota and you help me remember that. (I am waiting for warmer weather so that I can set it up on the porch :).
    Shawn

    Like

  2. I am currently one of those on the waiting list… I’m waiting patiently for the preservation of memory but I will probably have forgotten all about it by the time my turn pops up! Trying to come up with other creative ways to preserve those masterpieces without resorting to a shoebox full of paper!

    Like

    1. You’re on the waiting list?! Ever think of attempting the project yourself (I certainly am not that ambitious…or talented with a sewing machine)?

      Like

      1. I thought about it but I don’t know if I have the patience to figure it out. (although, if I have the patience for the waiting list…I might be able to get it done by the time I make it to the top!) I quilt and have made clothes (stressful!) but this seems like a whole different artistic endeavor!

        Like

Leave a Reply

