lemon love macaroon

A dear friend gave us a homemade bottle of Limoncello for Christmas. I had no idea what Limoncello was, but whenever I tell anyone about it their response is always the same: “Oh. That’s soooo good.”
But I’m breastfeeding, and that means two things: (1) I’m not drinking hard liquor and (2) in the hopes of preventing the kind of digestive pain that Eleanor experienced as a baby I’ve cut dairy, soy, and gluten from my diet meaning nearly everything good – especially for dessert – is off limits.

That’s why, when I came across this recipe for Limoncello Macaroons from my fav 101 Cookbooks I wasted no time spending $10 on almond paste (I even got lucky because it was on sale) and whipping up a batch (because (1) I got to taste the Limoncello without feeling guilty about drinking and (2) it meant I could have dessert). I agree with Heidi, that they are best roughly 30  minutes out of the oven (at least I seem to remember her saying this somewhere). But, sitting in my office yesterday afternoon, eyes closed, listening to my daily soundtrack, they were still delicious.

One thought on “lemon love macaroon

Leave a Reply

