a million bucks

Yesterday, crossing the street, I passed a mother and her two (tween-aged) children. The daughter was saying something that I couldn’t hear, adding grand gestures as she spoke. When we met in the crosswalk I heard the mother respond “Well, I don’t know if it works that way, but if it does command it to give us millions of dollars.”
Now, I have no idea what – exactly – they were talking about, but I have heard comments like this many, many times before:

“…if you give me a million dollars I’ll do it…”

“…if only I had a million dollars, then I’d never have to worry…”

“…the lottery is up to X million dollars, so I’m TOTALLY buying a ticket…”

Sometimes the values are for multiples of millions, sometimes someone is brash enough to go for billions, but a million seems to be a pretty safe amount of money to “ask” for, to want. And I’m left wondering, why is this? Why does it have to be such a large sum? Do we all really think that this is what we need to be happy?

As I walked away from the conversation I was left wondering, what if everyone instead wished to be comfortable, to have their needs met, to  be able to pay the bills and put food on the table and sometimes have a little something left over to indulge in a hobby?

I am just as guilty as the next person of thinking that if only I had a little more money all my problems would be solved. I realize that this is not the case, not by a long shot, but I also know that I will probably have the thought again, and, when I do, I hope that the amount is a little more reasonable.

One thought on “a million bucks

  1. I have heard that winners of large lotteries don’t tend to be all that happy after winning. I have also heard that people making a great deal of money aren’t really happier than those who make enough to be comfortable. (I think it was something like $60,000 for a family of 4 but it would certainly depend on the cost of living).
    I have considered what might happen if I came into a great deal of money (millions). I think that I would be less happy rather than more happy. I would imagine that family and friends would all want some and that I would start to wonder who was hanging around just for the money. It then becomes a life of caution and loneliness.
    I too have thought that it would be better to get enough to be comfortable: pay off debts then have some left for retirement and yes, a nice hobby. Not so much that people think you have tons to give away :).

    Like

Leave a Reply

