mulligan

A couple of days ago I prepared a wish list of sorts; a “if I were a toddler for a day and could have all my requests met this is what I would want” list.  It included many things, some more reasonable (e.g. a quieter dishwasher) and less self-serving (e.g. to remember that there is always someone less fortunate than me) than others (e.g.  thousands of readers (and commenters) who hang on my every word).
This morning, one of these requests came true: Eleanor slept past 6:30 am. An hour past 6:30 am, actually. “That’s great,” you might be thinking. “Wonderful. Fantastic. You got what *you* wanted. Good on you.” And I suppose I have that coming, what with being so vocal about it. But her sleeping in didn’t come without a little cost- which was that Eleanor was awake, and requesting breakfast, at 4:00 in the morning. Not only was she awake, and trying to convince us that she was ready to be, but she was (in reality) still tired and cranky and decidedly NOT ready to be awake.

So I’d like a mulligan, a do over, to revise my previous list. Because I’d rather have a child that wakes up at 6:00 and slept through the night, than one that wakes up in the middle of the night and then sleeps in past sunrise. Yes, I take it back. 6:30 am is just fine with me.

Leave a Reply

