fast and easy

I am exhausted. I usually am at the end of the day, but today it is particularly striking. Tim is also exhausted (and thinks it’s Tuesday, not Wednesday, so we’re really in trouble). And since it’s Wednesday I haven’t done our menu planning for the week. And so it’s 5:20, we’re all hungry, and I have nothing planned for dinner and ZERO energy to think about (a) planning dinner or (b) actually making it.
I don’t like relying on eating out when I feel like this because meals out (tend to) cost more money (compared to cooking at home) and (tend to) have more calories (or just generally are not quite as good for you as a home cooked meal…at least my home cooked meals). Yet, eating out is really the only thing I can think to solve our “we need to eat now and no one wants to cook” dilemma.

So I ask: What is your go-to meal when you’re too tired to cook? What can I keep on hand, at home, for nights like this?

 

7 thoughts on “fast and easy

    1. This is a regular dilemma for me. I like Lisa and Allison’s suggestions and add canned pintos or black beans to the menu. We do a lot of last-minute omelets with whatever’s in the fridge.

      Like

      1. Omletes, another great idea. Which get’s me thinking; when I was a kid my dad would occasionally make us pancakes for dinner (usually animal shaped which was *totally* awesome)…so breakfast for dinner!

        Like

  1. Keep tortillas in the freezer than can be pulled out to make almost any version of a quesadilla based on what else is in the cabinet/fridge..cheddar, goat, feta, roasted peppers, butternut squash, spinach….(and you don’t even need to keep 12 dozen at the ready ;-))

    Like

  2. Both great ideas…and I can’t believe that I didn’t think of these myself, given the great numbers of tortillas we kept around the house in Tanzania. Last night we opted for dinner from Mediterranean Deli (one of the greatest restaurants in CH), but I’ll certainly put these little ideas in my back pocket for the next time I don’t feel like cooking. Which may be tonight!

    Like

  3. We have “brinner” a lot when Matt is out of town. Frittata is another great option that can be whipped together with just about whatever is on hand.

    Like

Leave a Reply

