Charlie meets the Hobbit

The Charlie that I’m referring to is Charlie from Willy Wonka and  the Chocolate Factory- the original 1971 film. Remember that one? Do you remember that scene where Gene Wilder leads the Golden Ticket winners down long hallway at the end of which is a tiny door?
Charlie Bucket: Hey, the room is getting smaller!
Mrs. Teevee: No, it’s not, *he’s* getting *bigger*.
Mr. Salt: He’s at it again.
Mike Teevee: Where’s the chocolate?
Sam Beauregarde: I doubt if there is any.
Mr. Salt: I doubt if any of us will get out of here alive.
Willy Wonka: Oh, you should never ever doubt what nobody is sure about.
Mrs. Gloop: You’re not squeezing me through that tiny door.

Anyway, when I saw the doors of this house, designed (and inhabited by) architect Armin  Blasbichler (and his family, including two young boys) featured on Design*Sponge I was reminded of that scene in the movie. I mean check out this door…

{Every one of those doors works!}

..and this one (those are Pantone reference panels of every color you can see in nature. A close-up follows).

Then I saw what the house looked like from the outside. Can’t you see this as the envy of every hobbit in Hobbitan?

One thought on “Charlie meets the Hobbit

  1. Wow! I love the “door of doors” . . . no sense using a larger one than needed, right? Makes me feel like our house is boring!

    Like

Leave a Reply

