reader’s poll

Okay friends. It’s time for you to write to me. I need new inspiration- new cooking inspiration. So tell me, what is your favorite, your most well-loved, your “I cannot live without this book; I use it all the time and the recipes are fabulous and they always seem to {magically} work with the ingredients I have on hand” cookbook?
My man Mark Bittman provided me (well, okay, not just me…he provided it to anyone reading the NY Times) this list and this one 10 years earlier. But let’s see what you’ve got.

I need guidance, friends. Don’t leave me hanging.

{Photo credit: SlashFood.com}

7 thoughts on “reader’s poll

  1. We often refer to a cookbook gifted to us by friends in 1985, the Utah Dining Car Cookbook published by the Junior League of Ogden. Given its age, it is far from as health conscious as it could be and many of the recipes require a special trip to the grocer . . . but the work is worth the effort. Among our favorites: Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms, Chinese Chicken Salad, and Mandarin Tossed Salad. The mushroom dish is a much anticipated annual Hors d’Oeuvre during the holidays.

    Like

    1. So maybe this could be left to me in your will, dad? Then I can start enjoying the inspiration in, what, 30 or 40 more years?!

      Like

      1. Sure thing. Let’s hope it’s a very long time before you see it in your cupboard! In the meantime, I’m happy to share recipes (maybe you have the fav’s already?).
        Actually I should also mention my favorite new burger recipe as well. More seasonally appropriate, and a better nutritional fit than my previous offerings. It’s actually a Weight Watchers recipe, courtesy of Robin A. The burgers: 1 lb. ground chicken breast, 1 Tbsp oregano, 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 7 Tbsp feta cheese, crumbled. Makes 4 burgers.
        Once grilled, add to bun: 1 cup lettuce (romaine) cut into strips [or spinach–our favorite with these burgers); 2/3 c roasted red peppers, sliced (without oil); 5 small olives, black, slided (about 4 tsp). They are REALLY GREAT!!

        Like

  2. Dreena Burton’s “eat, drink & be vegan” is my go-to cookbook for wholesome everyday and not-so-everyday cuisine. As you say, the recipes just seem to work. I win non-vegans over all the time with the avocado and pinto bean enchiladas, and you will make many new friends with the super-charge me! cookies (a big hit at the CPC). The author has vegan kiddos, so the recipes are all very family friendly.

    Like

    1. Thank you Susan! I am planning to cut at least dairy but probably also gluten, from my diet once the baby is born, so this will be a great resource!

      Like

  3. Moosewood Restaurant Cooks at Home is my favorite as of late! Also, “cooking for a healthy family” by Simon Hope, though sadly I think this is out of print.

    Like

Leave a Reply

