a birthday cereal selection


I recently stumbled across Simple Simon & Company, a blog/website maintained by two woman, Elizabeth and Elizabeth, who also happen to be sisters-in-law. Every At the end of the week, they host a post called $5 Friday- highlighting  very cool DIY ideas for five bucks or less.

Not long ago, I came across this post and knew that Tim needed one of these; when we learned that #2 was a boy some of his exact words were “I hope he’s a cereal eater, because I have so much to teach him.” On top of that, he is usually super creative with my birthday gifts (remind me to tell you all about my 30th birthday) and I wanted to return the favor. Plus, I thought it would be fun.

About 3 or 4 weeks ago I started collecting the materials and on the few (was it only two?) nights he went out I quickly (but very carefully) put together the final product. I tried several different methods for mounting the cereal, and for mounting the tags and cereal names to the cork board itself. In the end, I decided to go with the simplest option- hot glue it all. Someday it would be nice to add some pins to the tops of the tags, so they actually look like they are hanging, but I need to find ones that are a little shorter that those that I have, which just ended up looking awkward and huge. Even if I do have to just say so myself, I think the final product came out pretty great. It might only make it into the closet in the second bedroom (rather than above the mantle in the living room), but I’m okay with that, because it’s the idea that counts.

Happy birthday love. And happy (cereal) eating.

For the novice (me), the way to keep those cereals straight.

The list.

Some necessary materials.

Preparations.

Placing labels.

One of Tim’s favorites, Honey Comb.

Eleanor taking part in the morning cereal eating- fruit loops was her breakfast of choice.

The {final} cereal specimen chart.

6 thoughts on “a birthday cereal selection

    1. Well, since these wildly creative and imaginative “scientific” names are completely made up, you can call them whatever you want. I suggest something like Pebblum Fruitium- esp. since there are a lot of ‘um’s used in Latin names.

      Like

  1. What a GREAT idea . . . perfect for Tim! Rebecca makes a good point–the scientific names (ha, ha) should be posted below those lowly names bestowed upon these fine eats by the cereal giants of America! Wait, Fruity Pebbles in Cambodia?? Really? Did you guys have it in Arusha as well? Imagine the cost per box to ship that stuff . . . .

    Like

    1. I think you’re onto something, dad. Giving “scientific names” would provide much more legitimacy to these cereals. And although we didn’t have fruity pebbles in Arusha, there were a lot of “familiar” cereals (i.e. Cheerios). I put familiar in quotes because they were produced in and sent from the UK, so they weren’t *exactly* the same…

      Like

Leave a Reply

