Things I love: Skip Hop Backpacks

When we returned from Tanzania, Eleanor had to start daycare for the very first time. Yes, she was almost two. Yes, many kids have been in daycare for ages by this point. Yes, there are a lot of parents who would think I was being just a little selfish, or silly, or…I don’t know what…to feel saddened by this event, but I was. In fact, the whole “I’m not sure that I like this idea of having to go back to work full time in an office and send my kid to some day care where {surely} there is  no one who cares about her a fraction as much as I do” whine fest/nervous breakdown that I had while Eleanor watched with curiosity was proof that the transition was likely to be far more traumatic for me than for her. But I loved (L.O.V.E.D.) the time I had with her during those first two (amazing) years of her life and I was so sad to have to say goodbye to that kind of one-on-one time with her. I may as well have been dropping her off at college.
In an attempt to get her (me?) excited for school, I decided that she should have a backpack (good idea, right?). The thing was, we had about two days to get her one, and I had no idea what I was doing. What I mean by that is that although I found her a super cute red backpack (“like Daddy” she reminds me often) which was the perfect size for her, and which she loves, I missed out on way cooler backpacks that might have done a little more to assuaged my concerns about sending her off to school. After all, what parent couldn’t at least crack a smile at the sight of these little animal faces as their child turned to face the world alone?

{Post Script: Turns out that the teachers (and I mean ALL OF THEM. I am still amazed how everyone at that school knows her name [and not just her name, but the name of every child]) at Eleanor’s daycare care for her as much (more?! Na.) than we do, and having her attend “school” has been one of the best decisions we’ve ever made as a family (although it’s not really in close competition with starting a family or moving to Africa, so take that for what you will). She has grown by leaps and bounds since she started school, and yet she remains the happy, curious, easy-going loving, child we’ve always known. Plus, when we have time together it’s just OUR time together and there is nothing that will stand in the way of that. And, as an added bonus, she clears her plate after dinner- yes, she scrapes leftover food in the trashcan and the dishes in the dishwasher. Now, any bets on whether that will last through her teenage years?}

Leave a Reply

