I’m back, baby

Several people have now written to me wondering if I am alright; “You’ve dropped off the planet,” they write. “You’re not blogging. What’s up?”
The truth is long, and complicated, and perhaps best saved in its entirety for another post. The short version is this: I’ve been waiting to strike gold; waiting for that big idea, that brilliant opening line that will grab the attention of my readers and leave them wanting more.  But they haven’t come.

And the longer I wait, and the longer I go without writing, the more momentous I feel that first post needs be.

The fact of the matter is that I just need to write something, anything. I doesn’t have to blow you all away with my brilliance. The post doesn’t have to be thoughtful or though provoking or even necessarily well written. It just needs to help me get writing. Simple as that.

So, with that said, I decided this would be a good way to get back in the game; a good first post back: I’m pregnant. Yup. 15 weeks. I…scratch that… we are a little scared (how will we pay for two children? Where will we find the time when there is no time now? How can I go back to work as early as I need to be able to?). And A LOT excited.

I can’t tell yet if Eleanor is fully on board with the idea of being a big sister, but she does like the idea that she and daddy have babies in their bellies too. So it’s something we’re all going through together, and that’s a pretty wonderful feeling.

4 thoughts on “I’m back, baby

  1. was wondering when we’d see a new post from you! congrats from the rosen-powers posse. we’re thrilled for you guys. 6 weeks out from our own addition, i can completely relate to swaths of panic and excitement.
    keep posting. let perfection go. it’s all about the process. we’ll keep reading.

    Like

  2. Congratulations to all three of you!!!! That news is definitely worth a post, perfect or not. All the more reason for the grandparents to spend some time in NC again next year! We are thrilled for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

