cauliflower and cashew curry

Without planning to I prepared another meatless meal this evening. When we sat down at the table, Tim said “another meatless Monday,” with a tone that communicated his sheer enthusiasm. To be fair, he’s not opposed to eating vegetarian, and almost always says that he actually enjoys eating vegetarian meals when they are prepared for him, he just hesitates to order them when we’re dining out because he’s not convinced that they will be as flavorful or filling as meals that contain meat. Generally, he finds that neither of these are true.
The same cannot be said for my vegetarian cooking.

The issue might be compounded by the fact that the regularity of my vegetarian cooking was coupled with Little E’s insistence upon being in the kitchen with me, which means that my attention is divided (at best). (Last night, just as the fish needed to come out from under the broiler, she decided it would be a good idea to repeatedly dip the sponge in the bowl of water she had collected in the sink before moving the sponge over the little carpet on which her chair stood and squeezing with all her might.) Or maybe I should stop trying to blame everything on my toddler and just own up to the fact that I need more practice with vegetarian meals.

Tonight’s recipe was adapted from one of my favorite sites, 101cookbooks. I’ve talked about it before. I’ll talk about it again. Asparagus was on sale, so I used it instead of green beans and since Little E didn’t have school today I didn’t have time to make my own curry powder (although Tim thought the dish was a little bland, so next time I will not skip this step). Also, since Tim’s had trouble with tofu in the past (hives) I decided to leave it out too (although, again, I think I would make a different decision next time;  maybe some tempeh instead?). I wanted to make sure that there was enough sauce (which is my favorite part) so I made 1 1/2 times the original recipe. Finally, I served the curry over rice which Heidi does not say to do. I wanted to use brown but we didn’t have enough so I used what we had left of the wild rice (I cooked extra [2 cups] and will use it later in the week for a quick lunch salad with dried cranberries, orange slices, and cashews [or walnuts]).

The recipe with my alterations is below. Even though it fell a little flat (lacked flavor), I’m going to share it as I made it. The original can be found at the above mentioned 101 Cookbooks, under Cashew Curry (her photo makes it look MUCH more appetizing too, mine even looks flavorless….) Please share your experiences, and thoughts for how to improve.

Cauliflower and Cashew Curry

Ingredients:

1 can (13 oz) coconut milk (I used light)
1 – 2 tablespoons curry powder
scant 1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
1/2 large red onion, chopped
3 medium garlic clove, chopped
1/3 cup water
1 cup asparagus, cut into 1-inch segments
1 1/2 – 2 cups cauliflower, cut into tiny florets
toasted cashews
a handful of cilantro, loosely chopped

Directions:

Bring half of the coconut milk to a simmer in a large skillet or pot over medium-high heat. Whisk in the curry powder and salt, working out any clumps. Now stir in the chopped red onion and garlic and cook for a minute. Stir in the remaining coconut milk and the water. Cook down the liquid for a couple minutes before adding the asparagus and cauliflower. Cover and simmer for just a couple of minutes – just long enough to take the raw edge off the vegetables and let them cook through a bit. Remove the pot from heat. Taste and adjust the seasoning (salt/ curry powder) if needed. Serve over a bed of rice (if desired) and top cashews and a bit of cilantro.

Serves Serves 3-4.


Leave a Reply

