quinoa cereal

Quick update, in case anyone was sitting breathless waiting to see what kinds of alternative breakfasts I came up with to replace my almond butter/banana rice cakes. Per a suggestion from a faithful reader, I made a warm quinoa cereal with dried cranberries, almonds, and cashews.  I really liked it, and Little E couldn’t get enough;  She ate 3 bowls. I guess we found ourselves a winner. Thanks MS.
-kjd

Warm Quinoa Cereal

NOTE: I used yellow quinoa this morning, but red would also be good. I find it to be considerably more chewy, so might add an interesting texture to this dish. I also saw a tri-colored quinoa in the bulk bin at our local coop, which I cannot wait to try.  The recipe I’m posting below is really the simplest possible way to prepare this dish, but there are several small changes that could enhance flavor (like toasting the quinoa before cooking) so feel free to experiment. For the milk I used coconut milk, but any milk (cow’s, almond, soy) would do.

Ingredients:

2 cups water

1 cup quinoa, well rinsed

3/4 to 1 c milk

Cinnamon, cardamom and/or ginger, salt and honey (to taste)

Dried fruit (I used cranberries. Apricots, raisins, or cherries [or some combination] would also be good)

Nuts, toasted (I had almonds and cashew pieces on hand. Adding/using walnuts would provide a good source of Omega fatty acids, as would adding a sprinkle of fresh, ground flax seed)

Directions:

1. Put quinoa and water over med-high heat and bring to a boil (I sprinkled with cinnamon [about 1 tsp] because I didn’t have a cinnamon stick to throw in). Reduce heat to a simmer, and cook, covered for about 5 minutes. Turn off the heat and let sit for 10-15 minutes (until the quinoa has absorbed all the water). Fluff with a fork

2. Meanwhile, in a small sauce pan over medium heat, combine the milk and spices. cinnamon, cardamom and ginger are all warming spices, so go easy unless you know the flavor you like. I would generally recommend 1:1 or 1:1/2 cinnamon: cardamom and probably 1:1/4 cinnamon to ginger. Add a pinch of salt. Continue to stir just enough so that the milk doesn’t burn or boil. You just want it warmed.

3. Once the quinoa is ready, scoop desired amount in a bowl and pour milk over (add just as much as you like to make the cereal as wet or dry as you want). Top with dried fruit and nuts. Drizzle cereal with honey, and enjoy.

3 thoughts on “quinoa cereal

  1. Yum, that does sound good. I wonder if it would work with bulger wheat since we’re quinoa deprived here.
    I meant to respond to your breakfast quandry post, but basically we’re just rockin’ yogurt with muselix here (homemade yougurt, mind you!). Although this morning Roger made one of his specialties – Warm Grape Nuts (using muselix). You start with some butter, add some brown sugar and yum. Take THAT, Fruity Pebbles!

    Like

    1. My favorite Tanzanian Foodie-I think bulgur would be great in place of the quinoa; It’s quite a substantial grain, has a delicious flavor, and, as you say, is avaialble in Arusha! At least it would be something other than oatmeal, or Village “bran” muffins to try in the morning. Plus, it’s super easy and Little M could help out- throwing in all the dried fruit and nuts.
      -kjd

      Like

  2. We’ll be trying that one out! Perhaps sharing with work colleagues who are using our “B&B services” while here for work at the end of the month. Sounds like it’s a real hit with E–worth it right there, huh?

    Like

Leave a Reply

